Stuart Pegg Scholarship Awarded to Patrick Kay

Stuart Pegg Scholarship

Pat Kay received the Stuart Pegg Scholarship awarded to to the most valuable player on the Canada Under 20 team.

The Pegg family, through the Canadian Rugby Foundation, presents this scholarship every year. The tradition is carried on through Stuart Pegg’s brother Adam, a successful restaurateur in Vancouver (La Quercia) and UVIC alumni.

Letter from Emma Watson – a George Jones Scholarship Winner

Dear Canadian Rugby Foundation,

Firstly, I would like to give my sincere gratitude; I feel very fortunate to be a recipient of the George F. Jones Scholarship award. My rugby career started in Grade 10 of high school when I saw my friends having such a fun time playing and being part of a team. It was one of the best decisions I ever made in high school, as it really helped me see what it takes to work really hard at something for the gain of a team. Ever since I have thoroughly enjoyed playing rugby and am passionate about the sport – currently I’m playing with the Ottawa Indians Rugby Football Club. In the latest season, I played as a winger and sometime a full back.Continue reading

Julia Folk Awarded George Jones Scholarship

Oct 22, 2013

Julia Folk is a student athlete at the University of Victoria. She finished grade twelve at Dr. Martin LeBoldus High School in Regina, Saskatchewan as class valedictorian and has moved from the prairie to make the coast her new home.  There, she is a starting rookie for the University of Victoria Women’s Rugby Team this year.Continue reading

Maria Samson Receives Colette McAuley NSWT Award

In its fifth year of existence, the Colette McAuley Award (CMA) was awarded to Maria Samson of Alberta at the NWL Championships in Vancouver, BC.  This award was the brainchild of former National player Meghan Mutrie who felt that women who played this great sport and gave back to it in the true spirit of the game deserved to be recognized. 

For the fifth year in a row, the CMA committee had a difficult time choosing a winner due to the quality of nominees. Three names were submitted this year by the provincial unions competing at the NWL Championships (no nomination was received from Quebec on Ontario) – Mary Giles (ATL), Maria Jaworski Samson (AB) and Barbara Mervin (BC).

 The winner receives a personal cheque for $1000, interest earned from the endowed Colette McAuley Fund through the Canadian Rugby Foundation.Continue reading

The 2013 Scholarship Application Process Now Open

The Canadian Rugby Foundation is pleased to open the 2013 scholarship application process for a number of scholarships for the 2013-14 academic year.

The Thomas Family Scholarship was established in 2008 as a way of thanking the Thomas family for their extreme generosity to the Foundation and all of the various rugby projects they have supported over the years.  The Foundation presents the Thomas Family Scholarship annually to a Canadian student playing the great game of rugby.Continue reading