BOARD OF DIRECTORS MANDATE – to be updated after the 2022 Governance review and By-law revisions

The activities of the Board include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • articulating the operating principles of the Foundation (purpose, mission, vision, strategy, policies and practices);
  • approving investment policy;
  • approving annual budget;
  • appointing Foundation executive officers and staff;
  • appointing auditors.

Up to [18 – to be confirmed] people may sit on the Canadian Rugby Foundation’s Board of Directors. Up to two are appointed by Rugby Canada; 10 are voted onto the Board by the Members (lifetime contributors of $25,000 or more). The Board may appoint up to 6 additional Directors. A rotation of Board members will occur with the length of appointments at two years per term, renewable.

Any disbursements made from a Foundation fund must be towards activities and projects aligned with the Foundation’s object to develop and grow rugby across Canada. Responsibility for ensuring the funds are used for the purposes intended is jointly held by the Foundation and Rugby Canada, the Foundation’s primary qualified donee through which funds are disbursed to the fund sponsors such as a local rugby club.

Pat Aldous (Vice-Chair)
Rick Bourne
Graham Brown
Hans de Goede
Sally Dennis (Secretary)
Barry Giffen
Randy Heward
Mike Holmes (Chair)
Jim Kellett
John Lecky
Jerry Marriott
Colette McAuley
Kyle Nichols
Nick Taylor
Bill Webb
John Woodward

Jeff Chan (Ex-officio Executive Director)
Jason Thomson (Ex-officio Treasurer)


Leave a Reply