Dedicated Funds

Captains Fund / National U20 Sponsorship

In the late 1990’s then Foundation executive director Aaron Abrams brought a proposal to the former Rugby Canada Captain, Mark Wyatt’s attention. With enthusiasm the proposal went from proof to print.

Designed to assist age-grade players in meeting the modern day demands of rugby, the Foundation adopted the Captain’s Fund as a vehicle to support young players striving to obtain the requisite experience to play at the highest level.

At its core, has been the Fund’s extensive support of Rugby Canada’s U20 program. The Fund has been an active participant and supporter of a variety of players, and teams to ensure both are not prevented from participation based on funding alone.

Due to its broad appeal and intent, the Captain’s Fund is, and continues to be, widely supported by the greater rugby community. Additionally, due in part to its name, the Fund has most of the former Captains participating.

Monty Heald National Women’s Fund

The Monty Heald National Women’s Fund was created to fill the need of increased financial support for the National Women’s Teams and in particular to remove as much as possible the requirement for National Team athletes to pay funds to Rugby Canada to offset the costs of representing Canada on the international field.

Full List of Dedicated Funds

Ancient Nor’Westers Capital Campaign
Balmy Beach Club
Bayside RFC Clubhouse Campaign
Brampton RFC
Brantford Harlequins RFC
Burlington Centaurs
Bytown Rugby Foundation
Canadian Rugby 7s Fund
Capilano Rugby Club
Captain’s Fund
Castaway Wanderers
CCSD/Pacific Pride Legacy Fund
Central Okanagan Rugby
Clansmen Legacy Fund
Colette McAuley NSWT Award
Courtenay Taaffe Memorial Scholarship
Crimson Tide Junior Rugby
Crusaders Rugby Club Charitable Fund
David Burnett Memorial Scholarship Fund
Deacy, Browne, Parfrey Fund
Dick Ellis Memorial Fund
Don Whidden Memorial Match Official Fund
Friends of Manitoba Fund
George Jones Scholarship
Gerald McGavin Coaching Award
Green & Gold Legacy Fund (University of Alberta)
Gren Thomas Family Scholarship
Hamilton Hornets Rugby Fund
Jack Patrick & Nick Mathers (JBAA)
John Cannon Memorial Fund
John Jones Memorial Scholarship Fund
Keith Morrison Memorial – Vancouver Island Rugby Referees Society’s Scholarship
LeadHERship Fund
Leprechaun Tiger RFC Legacy Fund
Marina Gerwing Fund
Montreal Irish Fund
Montreal Irish CAPITAL Fund
Monty Heald National Women’s Fund
Ravens Ripper Fund
Rugby Rumble Youth Association
Saint John Trojans RFC
Thunder Aboriginal Youth Rugby
Toronto Scottish Rugby Football Club
U20 Support Group Fund
University of Western Ontario (Men)
University Rugby Supporters Fund
Westshore Velox-Valhallians