2019 Canadian Men’s University Championship

The Canadian Rugby Foundation were again proud to be part of the Canadian Men’s University Championship, this year along with major sponsors Toronto Arrows, Langara Fishing Lodge and Growth Alchemy Group. Also thanks to individual donors Roger Gay, Chris Lasher and Mike Holmes. This competition is vital for the growth of Canadian rugby and donations to the University Rugby Supporters Fund make projects like this possible.

The UVic Vikes dethroned two time champions UBC Thunderbirds in a tight 21-20 match. The trophy is named after Spence McTavish an iconic name in Canadian University rugby. The photo below shows the University of Victoria team with their 2019 championship banner.

UVic Vikes

For more information on the tournament with results and match videos visit:


The following is a video from the event done by ESIM.

Match Report of Final: UVic vs UBC from Concordia Stingers

The Victoria Vikes won a 21-20 thriller to dethrone the two-time defending champion UBC Thunderbirds in the gold medal game of the Canadian University Men’s Rugby Championship at Concordia Stadium in Montreal on Sunday afternoon.

Earlier in the day the Queen’s Gaels took down the host Concordia Stingers 31-22 to win the bronze medal.The championship game was decided in dramatic fashion. With Victoria out front 21-15 and no time left on the clock, UBC’s Evan Norris ran 12 yards down the right sideline to score in the corner. That made it 21-20.

Max Radcliffe had the unenviable task of taking the corner kick on the last play of the game with the championship on the line. He missed wide left.

Even before it came down to the last seconds, the two teams waged an epic battle that will go down in history as one of the all-time classic university men’s rugby games.

The Thunderbirds came out strong, going up 12-0 early thanks to tries from Dan Archer in the fifth minute and Nick Allen (convert by Jack Scher) in the 15th minute.

The Vikes refused to buckle and came back with two tries of their own to close out the first half. James O’Neill scored both – one at 25 minutes and the second in the 29th minute. Jenner Teufel connect for both converts putting his team up 14-12 heading to the intermission.

UBC regained a 15-14 advantage when Scher delivered a penalty goal in the 49th minute. The lead changed hands again in the 51st minute when Nick Caron scored a try for the Vikes and Teufel made the convert. That set the stage for the wild finish.

Victoria has earned a berth in the championship tournament in each of its three years. The Vikes were silver medallists in the inaugural competition in 2017. Last year they hosted and finished in third place.

This is UBC’s first silver medal after two straight gold medal performances.

Queen’s and Concordia also played an intense game that was decided in the dying minutes.

The Gaels had the edge through much of the early going largely due to the play of scrum half Dylan Young who scored three tries and added three converts. They were up 14-5 at halftime and had a comfortable 31-10 lead with five minutes to play.

Then Concordia made a late charge, getting two tries from Michael Laplaine-Pereira, the last coming in the 59th minute. Stan Blazkowski connected for the first convert, but missed the second. The Stingers were on a roll but ran out of time.

This is Queen’s second appearance at the national championship. In 2018 the Gaels won the silver medal.

Concordia finished fourth for the second year in a row.

Nov. 24 – Medal games

Gold – Victoria 21, UBC 20

Bronze – Queen’s 31, Concordia 22

Nov. 23 – Consolation games

5th place – Brock 26, McGill 14

7th place – Guelph 79, UNB 5

Final Rankings (original seed)

1. Victoria (3)

2. UBC (1)

3. Queen’s (2)

4. Concordia (4)

5. Brock (8)

6. McGill (7)

7. Guelph (5)

8. UNB (6)



1. Guerscham Mukendi – Guelph

2. Michael Laplaine-Pereira – Concordia

3. Bryce Worden – UBC

4. Michael Nwabufo – McGill

5. Benjamin Newhook – Victoria

6. Don Carson – UBC

7. James O’Neill – Victoria

8. Nick Allen – UBC

9. Dylan Young – Queen’s

10. Logan Martin-Feek – Victoria

11. Thomas Goetz – Concordia

12. Aidan McMullan – Concordia

13. Mitchell Santilli – Brock

14. Evan Underwood – Queen’s

15. Colin Lynch – Guelph


1. Stefan Zuliani – Queen’s

2. Connor Sampson – UBC

3. Spencer Cooper – Victoria

4. Frank Carson – UBC

5. Mike Stewart – UNB

6. Zacharias Zorbas – Brock

7. Owain Ruttan – UBC

8. Nicholas Carson – Victoria

9. Fraser Hurst – UBC

10. Steven Commerford – Brock

11. Darien Hewey – Guelph

12. Flynn Heyes – UBC

13. Colm Quirke – Queen’s

14. Victory Eichie – Brock

15. Benjamin Russell – McGill

Posted in Newsletter.